The Wingless Angel who owns my Heart


 I saw him every morning,

I saw him every night;

When I thought he wasn’t looking,

I feasted at his sight.

Tall and kind and charming,

He was the white knight;

A glance here, a smile there,

He made people swoon in joy.

Intelligent and hardworking,

Successful in work and life;

He was the perfect man,

In everyone’s eyes.

Oh, I have watched him grow from a boy,

Seen him stumble and jump and fly,

From the peripheries of his world in silence,

I have watched him all my life.

To him I was just a classmate,

Someone he hardly knew,

How I wished he could read people’s hearts as well,

Then he would know where my love flowed.

Not pretty enough to match him,

Not friend enough to openly say,

All I could do is love him,

In my own lonely silent way.

People say, love is blind,

Not the choice of a practical person,

I say, what different is love from hate,

If all you see is rhyme and reason?

He returned my love with simple memories,

Unknowingly playing his part,

I treasure those innocent joys of my life,

Along with the little memory,

Of the wingless angel who owns my heart.

4 comments

  1. Madhu Dabholkar · August 5, 2012

    Beautiful is the word for this piece of writing. Thanx for sharing ur lovely composition amit.

    • Amyth banerjee · August 10, 2012

      Well, Madhu that is sweet of you to say, but the credit for this beautiful poem goes to my friend and co-founder and co-author of this blog, Sneha (animate7). So i rightfully confer your sweet comment on her. But still good to have enthusiastic people around feels great. 😀

  2. Amyth banerjee · June 22, 2012

    no doubt an amazing creation by you, i loved this one….. it sounded a lot simpler…. and had a feel! by the way who is this person you admire? must be lucky….. 🙂

    • animate7 · June 29, 2012

      Its pure fiction 🙂

Leave a Reply

