Our House Below


This song is performed by Cecile Corbel and appears on the album The Borrower Arrietty (2010).

When I heard this song for the first time, I had just one thought in my mind — every child born in this world should be able to sing a song like this – where everything is happy and wonderful and pleasant, where the parents are loving and kind, where there are no quarrels in the household to trouble the child’s mind, a childhood full of love and care and trust.

Lyrics:

Supper is done and night has come
My father worked hard all day long
Let’s have tea together near the fireplace
And talk for hours

My house, my home
Is so small, so pretty
My mom, my dad
We are family
Joy everywhere
Memories
In the house I adore

Mama hangs a picture on the wall
It’s time to sleep and daddy yawns
Let’s have tea together near the fireplace
And talk for hours

My house, my home
Is so small, so pretty
My mom, my dad
We are family
Joy everywhere
Memories
In the house I adore

My house, my home
Is so small, so pretty
My mom, my dad
We are family
Joy everywhere
Memories
In the house I adore…

^_^ This soundtrack might be from a fairytale story, but what’s stopping us from doing the best we can to create a home so beautiful for those we love, right? ^_^

Cecile Corbel

Leave a Reply

